0
research-article

SAFEST ROADMAP FOR CORIUM EXPERIMENTAL RESEARCH IN EUROPE

[+] Author and Article Information
Christophe Journeau

CEA, DEN, Cadarache, 13108 Saint-Paul-lez-Durance, France
christophe.journeau@cea.fr

Viviane Bouyer

CEA, DEN, Cadarache, 13108 Saint-Paul-lez-Durance, France
viviane.bouyer@cea.fr

Nathalie Cassiaut-Louis

CEA, DEN, Cadarache, 13108 Saint-Paul-lez-Durance, France
nathalie.cassiaut-louis@cea.fr

Pascal Fouquart

CEA, DEN, Cadarache, 13108 Saint-Paul-lez-Durance, France
pascal.fouquart@cea.fr

Pascal Piluso

CEA, DEN, Cadarache, 13108 Saint-Paul-lez-Durance, France
pascal.piluso@cea.fr

Gérard Ducros

CEA, DEN, Cadarache, 13108 Saint-Paul-lez-Durance, France
gerard.ducros@cea.fr

Stéphane Gossé

CEA, DEN, Saclay, 91191 Gif-sur-Yvette, France
stephane.gosse@cea.fr

Christine Guéneau

CEA, DEN, Saclay, 91191 Gif-sur-Yvette, France
christine.gueneau@cea.fr

Andrea Quaini

CEA, DEN, Saclay, 91191 Gif-sur-Yvette, France
andrea.quaini@cea.fr

Beatrix Fluhrer

KIT, Hermann-von-Helmholtz Pl. 1, 76125 Karlsruhe, Germany
beatrix.fluhrer@kit.edu

Alexei Miassoedov

KIT, Hermann-von-Helmholtz Pl. 1, 76125 Karlsruhe, Germany
alexei.Miassoedov@kit.edu

Juri Stuckert

KIT, Hermann-von-Helmholtz Pl. 1, 76125 Karlsruhe, Germany
juri.stuckert@kit.edu

Martin Steinbrueck

KIT, Hermann-von-Helmholtz Pl. 1, 76125 Karlsruhe, Germany
martin.steinbrueck@kit.edu

S Bechta

Nuclear Power Safety Department, KTH, 100 44 Stockholm, Sweden
bechta@safety.sci.kth.se

Pavel Kudinov

Nuclear Power Safety Department, KTH, 100 44 Stockholm, Sweden
pkudinov@kth.se

Wei Min Ma

Nuclear Power Safety Department, KTH, 100 44 Stockholm, Sweden
weimin@kth.se

Bal Raj Sehgal

Nuclear Power Safety Department, KTH, 100 44 Stockholm, Sweden
bsehgal@safety.sci.kth.se

Zoltan Hozer

MTA EK, Budapest, Hungary
zoltan.hozer@energia.mta.hu

Attila Guba

MTA EK, Budapest, Hungary
guba.attila@energia.mta.hu

Dario Manara

Joint Research Centre (JRC), Hermann-von-Helmholtz Pl. 1, 76125 Karlsruhe, Germany
dario.manara@ec.europa.eu

David P. Bottomley

Joint Research Centre (JRC), Hermann-von-Helmholtz Pl. 1, 76125 Karlsruhe, Germany
Paul.bottomley@ec.europa.eu

Manfred Fischer

AREVA GmbH, Paul Gossen Strasse 100, Postfach 1109, 91001 Erlangen, Germany
manfred.fischer@areva.com

Gert Langrock

AREVA GmbH, Paul Gossen Strasse 100, Postfach 1109, 91001 Erlangen, Germany
gert.langrock@areva.com

Holger Schmidt

AREVA GmbH, Paul Gossen Strasse 100, Postfach 1109, 91001 Erlangen, Germany
holger.schmidt@areva.com

Monika Kiselova

UJV REZ a.s., Hlavni 130, 250 68 Husinec Rez, Czech Republic
kis@ujv.cz

Jiri Zdarek

UJV REZ a.s., Hlavni 130, 250 68 Husinec Rez, Czech Republic
jiri.zdarek@ujv.cz

1Corresponding author.

ASME doi:10.1115/1.4037878 History: Received December 12, 2016; Revised May 09, 2017

Abstract

SAFEST (Severe Accident Facilities for European Safety Targets) is a European project networking the European experimental laboratories focused on the investigation of a nuclear power plant (NPP) severe accident (SA) with reactor core melting and formation of hazardous material system known as corium. The main objective of the project is to establish coordinated activities, enabling the development of a common vision and severe accident research roadmaps for the next years, and of the management structure to achieve these goals. In this frame, a European roadmap on severe accident experimental research has been developed to define research challenges to contribute to further reinforcement of Gen II and III NPP safety. The roadmap takes into account different SA phenomena and issues identified and prioritized in the analyses of severe accidents at commercial NPPs and in the results of the recentEuropean stress tests carried out after the Fukushima accident. Nineteen relevant issues related to reactor core meltdown accidents have been selected during these efforts. These issues have been compared to a survey of the European SA research experimental facilities and corium analysis laboratories. Finally, the coherence between European infrastructures and R&D needs has been assessed and a table linking issues and infrastructures has been derived. The comparison shows certain important lacks in SA research infrastructures in Europe, especially in the domains of core late reflooding impact on source term, reactor pressure vessel failure and molten core release modes, spent fuel pool accidents, as well as the need for a large scale experimental facility operating with up to 500 kg of chemically prototypic corium melt.

Copyright (c) 2017 by ASME
Your Session has timed out. Please sign back in to continue.

References

Figures

Tables

Errata

Discussions

Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Articles from Part A: Civil Engineering
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In